Class Notes (1,100,000)
CA (630,000)
Carleton (20,000)
PSYC (3,000)
PSYC 1002 (200)

PSYC 1002 Lecture Notes - Personality Development, Toilet Training, Egocentrism

Course Code
PSYC 1002
Mara Fuentes Avila

This preview shows pages 1-2. to view the full 6 pages of the document.
Psych Lecture Jan/15
Human Development
Development is the sequence of age-related changes that occur as a person progresses from
conepetion to death
Development is a cumulative process that inclues biological and behavioural change as your
Development results from a dynamic interaction between growing up and environmental
Stage: a development phase when certain characteristics patterns of behaviour are exhibitied
and capacities are established
The concept of development is widely used in psychology. They use it for the explanation for
the different patterns of behaviour It is used to understand.
Personality Development
Erikson's Theory of Psychosocial Development: Emphasis social interaction with other people
1. People eveolve through 8 stages over their life span
2. Each stage has a psychosocial conflict and the person must solve that problem
3. Personality is shaped by how individuals deal with psychosocial conflicts
4. Challenges in social relation stimulate personality development throughout life
A person's personality is made by their interactions with others
Personality development is a consquence from growing up and social demands
Conflict, demand and crisis are 3 things Erkison uses
Erikson Stage Theory
Eagle identity is a main element in his theory, it is aquired through the acquisition of
competence in each area of life
E r i k s o n ' s p s y c h o s o c i a l s t a g e
t h e o r y

Only pages 1-2 are available for preview. Some parts have been intentionally blurred.

Stage 1
Children learn if they can develop a sense of trust in the presence of people and in the world or
they develop mistrust and say the world is untrustable
Birth- 1 years
Stage 2
Children learn to make choices in this stage, 1-3 years
Children must develop personal control and independence ex. Toilet training
Failure leads to doubt of his abilities and shame. Parents are the key social agents
Stage 3
Children develop a sense of self-initiative, 3-5 years old
2 important events are exploration and playing
Stage 4
This stage you develop self-confidence because they spend more time not at home, 6-12 years
Children learn to value accomplishment and achievement
Significant social agents are teachers and peers
Stage 5
Basic conflict the adolescence face is a sense of self-identity and who they are, 12-18 years old
The basic conflict is identity vs role confusion
The key social social agent are peers
Stage 6
The basic coflict is intimacy vs isolation 20-40 years
The main question is can you share intimacy
Those with a poor sense of self tend to have less committed relationships and are more likely to
be isolated
Key social agents are lovers, spouses and close friends
Stage 7
Important events in this stage is work, family and parenthood 40-65 years
Sucess leads to feeling accomplishment and achievement in life
Stage 8
You look back on life, 65-death
Success leads to feeling wise and failure leads to dispair
You're Reading a Preview

Unlock to view full version