Class Notes (837,623)
Canada (510,370)
Psychology (122)
PSYC 353 (21)

PSYC 353 - Personality II.docx

4 Pages
Unlock Document

PSYC 353
Rose Joudi Kadri

PSYC 353 – March 3, 2014 Continuing personality Personal Concerns and Qualitative Stages in Adulthood - Personality and how it may be affected by outside influences that you come across as you age - Things that are personal that concern you – the things that make you as unique as you are o Events, such as losing a family member - Personal concerns are explicitly contextual in contrast to dispositional traits o Are narrative descriptions that rely on life circumstances o Change over time – you’ve been influenced over time o One ‘has’ personality traits, but ‘does’ behaviours that are important in everyday life Jung’s Theory (Carl Jung – Freudian – psychoanalytic approach, but also a humanist) - Emphasizes that each aspect of a person’s personality must be in balance with all the others o Such as: introversion-extroversion, and masculinity-femininity o However, each of these are shown at very times – you have both abilities o For example, it is expected that young adults will have many friends and party (extroverted) but will mature as they get older to be more selective with friends and stay in – be more private (introverted) - First theorist to discuss personality development during adulthood o He invented the notion of a ‘midlife crisis’ - Jung argues that people move toward integrating these dimensions as they age, with midlife being an especially important period Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development - Erikson was the first theorist to develop a truly lifespan theory of personality development - His 8 stages in a complete chart are in your textbook - Steps: o Trust vs. Mistrust o Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt o Initiative vs. Guilt o Industry vs. Inferiority o Identity vs. Identity Confusion o Intimacy vs. Isolation o Generativity vs. Stagnation – all middle-aged people want to feel useful or needed o Integrity vs. Despair Clarifications and Expansions of Erikson’s Theory - Logan argues that the eight stages are really a cycle that repeats o Trust  Achievement  Wholeness - Slater (2003) expands on Logan’s reasoning on the central crisis of generativity vs. stagnation and includes struggles between o Pride and embarrassment o Responsibility and ambivalence o Career productivity and inadequacy o Parenthood and self-absorption - Van Geert proposes that the rules by which people move from one stage to the next may be related to cognitive development o First, there is an inward orientation to the self that is gradually replaced by an outward orientation o Second, we move from using very general categories in understanding the world to using more specific ones o Third, we move from operating with limited ideas of social and e
More Less

Related notes for PSYC 353

Log In


Join OneClass

Access over 10 million pages of study
documents for 1.3 million courses.

Sign up

Join to view


By registering, I agree to the Terms and Privacy Policies
Already have an account?
Just a few more details

So we can recommend you notes for your school.

Reset Password

Please enter below the email address you registered with and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Add your courses

Get notes from the top students in your class.