Psychology
Course
PSYC 2310
Professor
Saba Safdar
Semester
Winter

Description
January 24, 2012 – PSYCH 2310 – S. Safdar Attitudes and Attribution Across Cultures MAKING ATTRIUBTIONS IN INTERCULTURAL INTERACTIONS - culture becomes an important factor when we answer why things happen in our life - types of explanations: o ability  I got 92% because I’m smart. IF YOU SUCCEED, YOU SAY IT WAS INTERNAL. o task difficulty  I got 57% because the exam was difficult. IF YOU DON’T SUCCEED, YOU SAY IT WAS EXTERNAL FACTORS. o Effort  I did well because I studied and came to all lectures. o Luck  I got 57% because I was unlucky – too many questions from the section I did not read. - Cultures tend to use different explanations for success and failure. MAKING ATTRIBUTIONS IN INTERCULTURAL INTERACTIONS - isomorphic attribution (Triandis, 1977) o eg. Samurai says “I want to sleep with you” – you take it as a sexual advancement – actually means “I trust you enough to sleep in the same room as you without you cutting my throat.” CULTURAL STYLE OF ATTRIBUTION - in individualistic cultures people tend to focus on the individual as determining the cause of behaviour o people attribute success to ability and failure to external factors - in collectivistic cultures people to give greater emphasis on external causes of individual behaviour. o People attribute success to help from others and failure to the lack of effort FUNDAMENTAL ATTRIBUTION ERROR - is it possible that the fundamental attribution error is a uniquely western phenomenon? - Miller (1984) o Participants: American and Asian Indians of varying ages o They had to describe the cause of actions they had observed in their lives. JOAN MILLER’S STUDY (1984) - age 8, we find no difference between American and Indian - but as people get older and enculturated, the style of attribution came to vary – amongst American, we find more internal attribution – it increases – the events that happen to them are based on internal factors Janu