Class Notes (1,100,000)
CA (630,000)
UW (20,000)
MUSIC (200)

MUSIC100 Lecture Notes - Thematic Transformation, Late Period Of Ancient Egypt, Heiligenstadt Testament

Course Code
Debra Lacoste

This preview shows half of the first page. to view the full 2 pages of the document.
Ludwig van Beethoven
- wrote in both Classical + Romantic styles
- changed romantic’s style
- developed Classical genres:
enlarged orchestra
changed musical structures
added chorus to symphony
told narratives with instrumental works
- father + gr.father = court musicians for Elector of Bonn
- studied organ
- 1790: met Haydn in Bonn went to Vienna to study with him briefly in 1792
- Lived in palace of Prince Lichnowsky
- Early Period (1792-1802)
composed keyboard + chamber music
style is similar to Mozart + Haydn
6 Easy Variations on a Swiss Tune in F+ for Piano (Slide 9-11)
- Middle Period (1802-1812) (“Heroic Phase”)
6 symphonies, 4 concertos, 5 string quartets, Fidelio opera, orchestral overtures, piano sonatas
1802 - going deaf
Heiligenstadt Testament (letter written to his bros about his deafness)
Performed his own piano concertos
Compositions are long, strong, and patriotic
Famous in this period
- Gap…
1815 - bro died, fought for nephew’s custody (Karl), parenting didn’t work out
1817 - completely deaf couldn’t perform/conduct, but kept composing
- Late Period (1820-1827)
Last 3 piano sonatas
9th Symphony
Series of string quartets
Piano sonatas - in form + design w/ juxtapositions of complexity + simplicity
- 9th Symphony (1824)
Huge work w/ chorus + 4 vocal soloists in 4th mvt.
4th mvt. text based on Ode to Joy
- serious music
- long powerful crescendos that carry the music forward
- Thematic transformation themes sound different when played quietly/loudly altered throughout but still recognizable
- Dramatic use of classical structures sonata form
- Sudden key changes that fit into logical harmony
- Most famous music = from middle period
Most famous music from middle period
o Symphonies No. 3-8 3rd = Eroica “Heroic”
o 5th = most famous
o 6th symphony = Pastoral lyrical passages of great tenderness
o Middle string quartets
You're Reading a Preview

Unlock to view full version