ASIA 382 Lecture Notes - Lecture 1: Four Noble Truths, Maurya Empire, Theravada

90 views2 pages
27 Jul 2016
Dharma (law, existences, etc): means “protection”. In Hinduism 印度教, dharma is the religious and moral law
governing individual conduct and is one of the four ends of life. By practicing Buddha’s teachings we protect ourself
from suffering and problems. All the problems we experience during daily life originate in ignorance, and the method
for eliminating ignorance is to practice Dharma.
Karma (act, destiny, etc): means "action" or "doing". In the Buddhist tradition, karma refers to action driven by
intention which leads to future consequences. For every event that occurs, there will follow another event whose
existence was caused by the first, and this second event will be pleasant or unpleasant according as its cause was
skillful or unskillful.' A skillful event is one that is not accompanied by craving渴望, resistance反抗 or delusions幻觉.
Samsara (transmigration): is the repeating cycle of birth, life and death (reincarnation) as well as one's actions and
consequences in the past, present, and future in Hinduism, Buddhism, Bon, Jainism, Taoism,[1] and Sikhism. During
the course of each life, the quality of the actions (karma) performed determine the future destiny of each person.
Moksa (religious liberation): means emancipation, liberation or connotes freedom from sasāra, the cycle
of death and rebirth.
Four Noble Truths: are the truth of suffering, the truth of the cause of suffering, the truth of freedom from suffering,
and the truth of the way to eliminate suffering, which is the Eightfold Path八正道.
Mahayana: is one of two (or three, under some classifications) main existing branches of Buddhism and a term for
classification of Buddhist philosophies and practice.
Theraveda: is the dominant form of Buddhism in most of southeast Asia -- Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Laos, Sri
Lanka and Thailand. It claims about 100 million adherents信徒 worldwide. Its doctrines are taken from the Pali
Tipitaka or Pali Canon, and its basic teachings begin with the Four Noble Truths.
King Ashoka: was an Indian emperor of the Maurya 古印度 Dynasty who ruled almost all of the Indian subcontinent
from c. 268 to 232 BCE.
Tripitaka (Three parts of Buddhist literature): The Tripiaka is divided into three sections, each one containing a
"basket" of teachings: the Sutras佛经, Vinaya戒律, Abhidharma.
Nirvana: refers to the imperturbable镇静的 stillness平静 of mind after the fires of desire, aversion厌恶, and delusion
have been finally extinguished熄灭.
Buddha Sakyamuni: Sage from the Sakya clan
Buddha Maitreya: The Future Buddha
Buddha Amitabha: Buddha of Boundless Light of the Western Paradise
Bhaisajyaguru (Yao-shih, Yaoshi): the Healing Buddha
Bodhisattva Avolokitesvra (W. Kuan-shih-yin, P. Guanshiyin): - Deity of Great Compassion;
Bodhisattva Manjusri (W. Wen-shu, P. Wenshu): Great Wisdom;
find more resources at
find more resources at
Unlock document

This preview shows half of the first page of the document.
Unlock all 2 pages and 3 million more documents.

Already have an account? Log in

Get access

$10 USD/m
Billed $120 USD annually
Homework Help
Class Notes
Textbook Notes
40 Verified Answers
Study Guides
1 Booster Class
$8 USD/m
Billed $96 USD annually
Homework Help
Class Notes
Textbook Notes
30 Verified Answers
Study Guides
1 Booster Class