42 views2 pages
14 Apr 2012

For unlimited access to Class Notes, a Class+ subscription is required.

1. “Global Civil Society”
2. ASEAN- The ASEAN Foundation was established by the ASEAN Leaders in December 1997
during ASEAN’s 30th Anniversary Commemorative Summit to help bring about shared
prosperity and a sustainable future to all 10 ASEAN Member Countries, namely, Brunei
Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore,
Thailand and Viet Nam. In recognition of the fundamental importance of improving the
livelihoods and well-being of the peoples of Southeast Asia, and the need to promote ASEAN
awareness as well as people-to-people contact through scholarships, fellowships and other
exchanges, the Leaders of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) agreed to
establish the ASEAN Foundation on 15 December 1997 in Kuala Lumpur during the Association’s
30th Anniversary Commemorative Summit. The ultimate aim was to help bring about shared
prosperity and a sustainable future to all ASEAN countries
3. Bretton Woods Conference - Bretton Woods Conference (1944).The breakdown of the world
economic system during the 1930s Great Depression convinced American and British planners
of the need for a new international economic framework as part of the postwar settlement.
Anglo‐American discussions led by U.S. Assistant Secretary of the Treasury Harry Dexter White
and the British Treasury representative John Maynard Keynes began in 1942. These talks as well
as intragovernmental planning in both countries led to an international conference held in
Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, in July 1944. Attended by representatives of forty‐five
nations, the conclave produced the blueprints for two new institutions, the International
Monetary Fund (IMF) and the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (or
World Bank), as well as discussions of a third, the International Trade Organization.
4. BRICs - Brazil, Russia, India, China.
5. Colonialism
6. Contractarian Philosophy
7. Cosmopolitanism
8. Cotonou Agreement
9. Development Assistance Committee (DAC)
10. Development Economics
11. Developmental State
12. Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
13. Edward Said
14. Eurocentrism
15. Fair Trade
16. FAO
17. FDI
18. Gini Coefficients -Gini-coefficient of inequality: This is the most commonly used measure of inequality.
The coefficient varies between 0, which reflects complete equality and 1, which indicates complete inequality
(one person has all the income or consumption, all others have none). Graphically, the Gini coefficient can be
easily represented by the area between the Lorenz curve and the line of equality. In this figure, the Lorenz
curve maps the cumulative income share on the vertical axis against the distribution of the population on the
horizontal axis. In this example, 40 percent of the population obtains around 20 percent of total income. If
Unlock document

This preview shows half of the first page of the document.
Unlock all 2 pages and 3 million more documents.

Already have an account? Log in

Get access

$10 USD/m
Billed $120 USD annually
Homework Help
Class Notes
Textbook Notes
40 Verified Answers
Study Guides
1 Booster Class
$8 USD/m
Billed $96 USD annually
Homework Help
Class Notes
Textbook Notes
30 Verified Answers
Study Guides
1 Booster Class