Class Notes (838,800)
Canada (511,100)
Art (530)
FAH101H1 (129)
Wolleson (9)

Art History 10.06.11.docx

4 Pages
Unlock Document


Art History 2011-10-06 The Byzantine World and Hagia Sophia Historical context: The Byzantine state - A continuation of the empire of ancient Rome and as divinely ordained - Hagia Sophia (Holy wisdom) - The Byzantine Emperor Basileus was considered absolute and sacred - Emperor and Empress: divinely instituted - Byzantium (the structure of the church) differed from the one in the west - Constantin 이 Rome 을 버리고 Constantinople을 papal city로 채택한 후 생긴 왕국 - Byzantium: Greece, Bulgaria, Hungary, Turk, Southern part of Italy, then expanded… Iconoclasm - First iconoclastic period: 730-787 - Second iconoclastic period: 814-842 - Byzantine emperor Leo III ordered the removal of an image of Jesus over the Chalice gate (entrance to the Great Palace of Constantinople- relplaced it with a cross) - Iconoclasm: hates pic - Iconodules: like pic - Iconoclasm: condemned makings of paintings/statue of Jesus or saints. The only true icon of Jesus is Eucharist and you can’t represent Christ exactly the same way (the divine and also human form that he is) - The only surviving iconic image in Hagia Sophia is apse mosaic (was replaced after iconoclasm) Byzantine Church DecorationOLACONICON BEMA NAO NARTHEX EXIONARTHEX Latin Cross Greek cros s OLACONICON BEMA NAO NARTHEX EXIONARTHEX Latin Cross Greek cros sCross in Square Plan : - Like the one in Kariye Djami, Constantinople - Atrium: courtyard - Exo: outside Eso: Inside Dome: fixed hierarchy (Highest position (chirst) in dome Squinches: Major events in Christ’s life on earth Lower walls and piers: saints Neoplatonism: School of religious and mystical philosophy that took shape in the 3rd century CE, founded by Plotinus and based on the teachings of Plato and earlier Platonists Dephni, Athens- Monastary (Church of the Dormition c.1080) Hosios Lukas, Church of the Theotokos - Plans of the Katholikon (major temple or monastery - Greek-cross ordained octagon - domed octagon: architectural type of church, where the dome is based on eight supports forming in the ground plan an octagon inscribed in the central quadrangle of the naos. These churches are of great dimensions and the dome is dominant as covers almost the whole edificeSSSSS IOTH CENTURY OR 1022 LATER ADDITIONS 357 SSSSS IOTH CENTURY OR 1022 LATER ADDITIONS 357Istanbul (modern day Constantinople_ - Hagia Sophia - Topkapi The Hagia Sophia - Architects: Anthemios and Isidoros - Has the axis of Basilica - Built for Emperor Justinian I - Pendentives supporting the dome - Quincunx design - The brick vaults were made so thin a
More Less

Related notes for FAH101H1

Log In


Join OneClass

Access over 10 million pages of study
documents for 1.3 million courses.

Sign up

Join to view


By registering, I agree to the Terms and Privacy Policies
Already have an account?
Just a few more details

So we can recommend you notes for your school.

Reset Password

Please enter below the email address you registered with and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Add your courses

Get notes from the top students in your class.