Lecture 4

2 Pages
Unlock Document

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
James Eckenwalder

EEB330H1 S Systematic Botany - James Eckenwalder Lecture 4 January 24, 2013 Continuation of previous lecture Book 11 of Sahagún was arranged according to Pliny's Natural History It doesn't reflect Aztec thinking at all. Pages in Sahagún's book dedicated to beans and cacti, essentially have plants that all look alike. The only way they are differentiated are the pods within the beans (?) Two other significant works of classification: Martin de la Cruz who was a student of Sahagún, writing an Aztec herbal book containing medicinal plants. There is a big emphasis on underground parts like roots. Those parts of the plant are emphasized in illustrations. Francisco Hernandez went all over Central Mexico, whereas Sahagún was concentrated in the valleys of Mexico. Francisco mostly gathered information on medicinal plants. His work shows more of the variability in names. Ex. Iztac pahtli meant white plant which was used all over Mexico. Any plant has only one correct name, but there are about 8 families that are exceptions to the rule. Ex. Apiaceae, Lamiaceae, Asteraceae, Fabaceae, Brassicaceae, Poaceae, Arecaceae, and Hypericuceae. Each of these families also have a name that doesn't follow the standard form: Umbelliferae, Lebiatae, Compositae, Leguminosae, Cruciferae, Gramineae, Palmae, Guttiferae. These alternate names are based on morphological details that are folk biological intermediates. Today's lecture Plants were broken down into 2 categories in Linnaeus's work (focused on sex): Phamerogram - showing or visible marriage. Essentially seed/flowering plants, where the reproductive structures were very obvious to animals. Cryptogram - hidden marriage. Reproductive structures were harder to find. Subdivisions of cryptograms: algae (photosynthetic), fungi (non-photosynthetic), bryophytes (mosses), pteridophytes (ferns), and bacteria. Subdivisions of phamerograms: angiosperms, gymnosperms. In the 1960s, endosymbiosis idea was developed. Chloroplasts and mitochondria were associated with eukaryotic plants. Looking at smaller cell structures, people put more emphasis on unicellular things. There came to be an arrangement of organisms known as the five kingdoms: Animals, Plants, Fungi, which were mostly multicellular, Protista, for unicellular organisms, and then Prokaryotes, which were organisms that didn't have a distinct nucleus. The first four were first treated as Bacteria. Blue and green algae were previously grouped with prokaryotes. Seed plants were all eukaryotic. Animals, Plants and Fungi all had some relatives to the Protista. Archaea were the discovered and were put into their own groups. In the end, there were three major domains: eukaryotes, bacteria and
More Less

Related notes for EEB330H1

Log In


Join OneClass

Access over 10 million pages of study
documents for 1.3 million courses.

Sign up

Join to view


By registering, I agree to the Terms and Privacy Policies
Already have an account?
Just a few more details

So we can recommend you notes for your school.

Reset Password

Please enter below the email address you registered with and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Add your courses

Get notes from the top students in your class.