Class Notes (1,100,000)
CA (620,000)
UTSG (50,000)
GER (40)

GER150H1 Lecture Notes - Angela Merkel, Nuclear Power

Course Code

This preview shows half of the first page. to view the full 2 pages of the document.
Jan 18 Tutorial on German Government
11:19 AM
List of Lander (states)
1. Bavaria
2. Baden-Wurttenberg
3. Belin
4. Saxony
5. Saxony-Anhatt
6. Hamburg (north, shipping city)
7. Bremen (north)
8. Brandenburg
9. Thuringia
10. Hesse
11. Mecklenburg- Western Pomerania
12. NorthRhine Westphalia
13. Rhineland Palatinate
14. Schleswig-Holstein
15. Lower Saxony
16. Saarland
Angela Merkel (chancellor, head of government)
> Bundestag (legislature) - Bundesrat - responsible for State legislation (upper house
made up of PM's from states given seats based on the size of the state. Unelected
branch. Each state can only vote as a block. Ex: Bremen 3 votes, Bavaria 6 votes.
President (head of state)
-Nominates the head of the party with the most seats to become chancellor, followed
by the Bundestag electing someone, always the person the president puts forth but
potentially someone else.
German Political Parties:
Two main parties:
CDU (Christian Democratic Union) - Centrist-right party that currently rules today in
a coalition with the FDP
SDP (Social Democrats Union) Center-left party
Alliance '90/Green - Nuclear power as an issue (1983)
The Left Party (Die Linke) 1989 - Original governing party in East Germany
FDP (Free Democratic Party)
CSU (Christian Social Union of Bavaria) Bavarian version of the CDU, since 1945 ruling
party in Bavaria
Minimum needed to be an active political party (5% of 3 seats in the Bundestag
Difference between Canada-Germany: German states more integrated than Canadian
provinces. Ex: German states can issue passports
You're Reading a Preview

Unlock to view full version