Class Notes (835,375)
Canada (509,147)
JPA331Y1 (32)


3 Pages
Unlock Document

Political Science
Lynette Ong

2012-10-23 JPA331Y1: FORMAL POLITICAL INSTITUTIONS Key ft. of political institutions  Unitary state--22 prov. 5 “autonomous regions”, 4 Municipals. 2 SARs  Admin levels: center, prov., prefecture, county, township  No separation of power b/t the CCP, legislature, judiciary  Grid-like, criss-crossing lines of vertical authority & horizontal coordination Beijing 22 prov. 5 autor 2 SARs 4 Munic. Prefecture counties townships  Through the party system, report to Beijing  Overlap of power, horizontal hierarchy system  CourtBeijingParty  Tiao-Kuai system--Vertical & horizontal system o People don’t go against the crown. No justice through the court system.  Zhongnanhai: houses the top military ranking officials, while the party and military are separate on paper, they are inseparable in reality  CCP founded in Leninist mould. Highly selected well-trained discipline. At least on paper. After a period of apprenticeship, party school training + evaluation and membership granted o Theoretically, the party is to arrive at decisions democratically. Decisions reached are to be carried out whole-heartedly o Power really lies at the hand of the party. o Central level, the main party organs is the national party congress (meets every 5 years)--highest level of authority. But because infrequent meetings and large member size, nothing happens. The CCP Central Party Organs  The National Party Congress: o 2000 delegates, meet once every 5 years o Highest organ of party authority in theory. Legitimates central political tasks for the party, rather than initiates & decides important policies o A small number not elected  The Central Committee o 300 members, Meets once or twice a yr. o In theory, The NPC elects the CC members. Reality, endorses the candidates determined by the Politburo  The Politburo o The command HQ of the CCP 2012-10-23 JPA331Y1:  Politburo Standing Committee o Most powerful inner circle with 9 members currently who meet weekly o Highest leader- Hu Jintao Current Members of the Politburo Standing Committee 1. Hu Jintao: Pres. Of PRC, general Secretary of the CPC, chairman of the central military commission. 2. Wu Bangguo: Chairman of standing committee of the national people’s congress 3. Wen Jiabao: Premier of the state council of the PRC 4. Jia Qinglin: The CCP central party organs  The Secretariat o The princ. Admin.
More Less

Related notes for JPA331Y1

Log In


Join OneClass

Access over 10 million pages of study
documents for 1.3 million courses.

Sign up

Join to view


By registering, I agree to the Terms and Privacy Policies
Already have an account?
Just a few more details

So we can recommend you notes for your school.

Reset Password

Please enter below the email address you registered with and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Add your courses

Get notes from the top students in your class.