Class Notes (1,100,000)
CA (620,000)
Western (60,000)
PHIL (1,000)
PHIL 1020 (400)
Lecture 4

Philosophy 1020 Lecture Notes - Lecture 4: Four Noble Truths

Course Code
PHIL 1020
Steve Bland

This preview shows half of the first page. to view the full 2 pages of the document.
The centerpiece of Buddhism is the doctrine of Interdependent Arising.
All things come to be and pass away interdependently
You cannot come to a complete understanding of any object without coming to an
understanding of how it came to be what it is; this involves understanding its relationships
to everything else in existence, past and present, and how these things came to be.
Nothing exists permanently and in isolation. Everything is changing and everything is
The doctrine of no-self
a special case of the principle of interdependent arising.
There are no independent, enduring selves that reap the benefits and suffer the
misfortunes of life.
The five processes - Persons consist of five sets of processes:
physical processes
processes of sensation
perceptual processes
volitional processes
processes of consciousness
nervous system, immune system, DNA, etc.
feelings of pleasure and pain
responsible for sense perception
responsible for the will and decisions it makes
responsible for awareness
The processes are interrelated, conditioned, and in continual flux
Awareness depends on perceptions, which depend on the organs of sense, the nervous
system, the brain, etc.
Four Noble Truths
You're Reading a Preview

Unlock to view full version