This preview shows half of the first page. to view the full 2 pages of the document.
Operating income less interest expense less income tax expense equals net income.
Contribution margin (CM) is the amount remaining from sales revenue after variable expenses
have been deducted.
Break-even point- The level of sales at which profit is zero. The break-even point can also be
defined as the point where total sales equals total expenses, or as the point where total contribution
margin equals total fixed expenses. Sales - variable expenses - fixed expenses = $0.00.
Contribution margin (CM) ratio: The contribution margin as a percentage of total sales.
The CM ratio is particularly valuable when trade-offs must be made between more dollar sales
of one product versus more dollar sales of another.
Incremental analysis: An analytical approach that focuses only on those items of revenue, cost, and
volume that will change as a result of a decision.
The break-even point can be computed using either the equation method or the contribution
margin method—the two methods are equivalent.
Equation method: A method of computing break-even sales using the contribution-format income
Variable expense ratio: The ratio of variable expenses to sales dollars.
Contribution margin method: A method of computing the break-even point where the fixed
expenses are divided by the contribution margin per unit.
SINGLE PRODUCT CVP ANALYSIS
Break-Even (Shortcut Formula)
Target Operating Profit (Shortcut Formula)
You're Reading a Preview
Unlock to view full version