Class Notes (839,242)
Canada (511,223)
York University (35,583)
Humanities (1,683)
HUMA 1865 (29)

Buddhism Differentiation lecture

3 Pages

Course Code
HUMA 1865
Aviva Goldberg

This preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full 3 pages of the document.
MAJOR DIVISION - theravad – the way of the elders - mahayana – the great vehicle (literal meaning great) - vajrayana – the diamond vehicle early history - Buddhist councils: ordains monks to ordain more munks, nun…after a while there is a feeling to consilidate to recite the 3 vaskas of the texts (vinyas, sutras, etc) - First council – held to recite sutras and vanaya - Second council – held 70 years later to resolve conflicts over monastic discipline Emperor ashoka - greatly expanded the mauryan kingdom to include much of the Indian subcontinent - issued edicts: preserved on pillars, that promote Buddhist morals and virtues and doctrine - redistributed the buddha’s relics, building more stupas and planted Bodhi trees - convened the Third Buddhist Council New Sutras - the composition of a number of new texts between 150 bce and 100 ce created the movements that will become Mahayana - these were taken a the “second tuning of the wheel of dharma”, - these sutras were united by three issues: ideals of the bodhisattva, visualization of the Buddha as glorified transcendent being, and new philosophy of emptiness derived in meditation THERAVAD/MAHAYANA ARHAT Bodhisattva Obtain enlightenment and enters Obtain enlightenment and reminds to nirvana (practices detachment, etc) teach others Ascetic ideal (monks; detachment, not Compassionate ideal (a set of people attached to world, etc) who have made a vow that they will work to reach ENGMT not for themselves but to stick around for the compassion of others to help them reach this ENGMT Only one Buddha per eon (at each given Multiple Buddhas and Bodhisattvas moment there is only one Buddha; which present is Sidartigativma) Theravada Practice - religious practices involves karma, morality, good actions/deeds - morality: 5, 8, or ten precepts - showing reverence to the Buddhas in his relics - supporting the monks and nuns in the pursuit of the Arhat ideal Moral Precepts - not killing - not stealing - sexual immortality - lying - taking intoxicants - eating after noon
More Less
Unlock Document

Only page 1 are available for preview. Some parts have been intentionally blurred.

Unlock Document
You're Reading a Preview

Unlock to view full version

Unlock Document

Log In


Join OneClass

Access over 10 million pages of study
documents for 1.3 million courses.

Sign up

Join to view


By registering, I agree to the Terms and Privacy Policies
Already have an account?
Just a few more details

So we can recommend you notes for your school.

Reset Password

Please enter below the email address you registered with and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Add your courses

Get notes from the top students in your class.