MUSC 3541 Lecture Notes - Lecture 4: Sonny Rollins, Roscoe Mitchell, Drum Solo

22 views2 pages
Music Analysis Seminar
Lecture 4
Jazz Analysis:
Roscoe Mitchell - Nonaah (1976)
Free form jazz
Blue 7 - Saxophone Colossus (1956)
Sonny Rollins (tenor sax)
Tommy Flanagan (piano)
Doug Watkins (bass)
Max Roach (drums)
Blue 7 Form:
1. Bass Intro
2. Addition of drums
3. Sonny theme
4. Piano enters
5. Sonny variation on theme and solo
a. A solid 2 minutes, long time.
6. Sonny back to theme-ish
7. Piano solo (bass and drums too)
8. Sonny back for a short moment
9. Drum solo 4x of 12
a. Loses meter here slightly because it’s drum alone, but he’s in control and knows
where he is.
find more resources at
find more resources at
Unlock document

This preview shows half of the first page of the document.
Unlock all 2 pages and 3 million more documents.

Already have an account? Log in

Get OneClass Notes+

Unlimited access to class notes and textbook notes.

YearlyBest Value
75% OFF
$8 USD/m
$30 USD/m
You will be charged $96 USD upfront and auto renewed at the end of each cycle. You may cancel anytime under Payment Settings. For more information, see our Terms and Privacy.
Payments are encrypted using 256-bit SSL. Powered by Stripe.