LING 1 Lecture Notes - Lecture 1: Schuh, Germanic Languages, Peace Corps

Department
Linguistics
Course Code
LING 1
Professor
Green
Lecture

This preview shows pages 1-2. to view the full 6 pages of the document.
Sample paper for Linguistics 1
Wieder ist ein Schiff untergegangen!
Russell Schuh
Introduction
This paper compares some features of English and German, and it says some things
about my experiences with these two languages and how my abilities in the two languages
relate to those experiences. I was born and raised in the state of Oregon. From the time I
was about seven years old until I reached adulthood, my family lived in Klamath Falls, in
southeastern Oregon. Klamath Falls is essentially a monolingual English-speaking town,
and all the people I had any contact with there--family, friends, teachers, employers--used
only English. As an undergraduate, I majored in French, and I spent two years in the Peace
Corps in Niger, a francophone African country, where I also began learning the Hausa
language. Thanks to this experience and periodic returns to French and Hausa speaking
areas, I speak both these languages relatively well, though certainly not at a native speaker
level. The focus of this paper is not these languages, however, but rather on German.
My paternal grandparents immigrated to the United States from Germany at the
beginning of the 20th century. German was the language used in my father’s family during
his entire childhood. My father was the youngest of seven siblings, and until I was seven
years old, we lived in the Portland, Oregon area, near most of my paternal aunts and
uncles. They would often speak German when they got together, and though I never
learned to speak or understand it, they enjoyed teaching me how to say things, such as the
numbers, the alphabet, the names of common things, and even phrases. After all these
years, I still remember one of my aunts telling of an illiterate friend or relative who, during