10 Feb 2011
Basic teachings of early Buddhism
Three Characteristics/ Three Marks of Existence (trilakshana)
1.Impermanence (anitya/ anicca)
2.No self-identity (anātman)
3.Suf fering (duhkha)
5 Aggregates
(1) rūpa: corporeality or form; the material substances of the body
(2) vedanā: processes of sensations---pain, pleasure, lack of pleasure,
lack of pain
(3) samjñā: perception through the senses and the mind; the mental act
of labelling things
(4) sa skāras: volitional processes, producing impulses to do actions;
thought formations
(5) vijñāna: the process of consciousness which makes us aware of
various objects
Dependent co-arising /dependent arising/ interdependent arising (pratītya
All composite existence has a cause & conditions and is therefore without
12 conditioning links that produce duhkha (suffering, dissatisfactoriness)
This/that conditionality (idappaccayatā)
Synopsis of the wheel of becoming:
(1)When this is, that is
(2)From the arising of this comes the arising of that
(3)When this isnt, that isnt
(4)From the cessation of this comes the cessation of that
Benares: site of the Buddhas first sermon
The Four Noble Truths
(1)Life is suffering
(2)The cause of suffering is craving/greed
(3)There is a way to end suffering
(4)The path to cessation of suffering it the Noble Eightfold Path
Eightfold Noble Path
(1)Right Views/Understanding
seeing through illusions (e.g. more wealth can bring us happiness)
if our minds are defiled and untrained, suffering will follow us
(2)Right thoughts
Unlock document

This preview shows half of the first page of the document.
Unlock all 2 pages and 3 million more documents.

Already have an account? Log in

Get access

Grade+20% OFF
$8 USD/m$10 USD/m
Billed $96 USD annually
Homework Help
Study Guides
Textbook Solutions
Class Notes
Textbook Notes
Booster Class
40 Verified Answers