5 Pages
Unlock Document

Henry Shiu

Sanatana dharma- means eternal faith. Its only common in a few parts of India and in some classes of society. This term is usually used to refer to local manifestation of the faith. Tilak (tilaka) - is a mark worn on the for-head and other parts of the body. It could be worn in different form, depending on who you worship. Symbolizes the third eye, that is associated with many Hindu gods Bharata- another term used a long time ago to refer to India Karma- (action) good or bad, as it is used to determine the quality of rebirth in our future life. Human have free will to choose good or evil and suffer the consequence Samsara- mean the continuing cycle of rebirth. According to Hindus the goal of human life is to be free of samsara and this is done through attaining moksha Mohenjo-Daro- a town that is located on the banks of the Indus river (name means mound of the dead) it known to be a religious town, it shares some of the same religious concepts as the towns around it. Indus Valley Civilization- Hinduism originated here in the early 20 century, it was said that it had grown from a fusion of the indigenous religions of the Indus Valley with the faith of the Aryans Harappa- is a town located on the banks of the Indus River and has similar view in culture as mohenjo-daro Aryans- Aryans are indo European people thought to have migrated into India from other parts of Asia, but some say that India was their original land. Sanskrit- the official language of the Hindu religion it is said to be sacred (only Brahmins can read it) Puranas- old tales stories about deities that became important after the Vedic period (teaches the importance of the Vedas) Bhagavad gita- a section of the mahabrata epic recounting a conversation between Krishna and the warrior Arjuna, in which Krishna explains the nature of god and the human soul. (This book is a guide to life) Vedas- the 4 collection of hymns and rituals that constitute the oldest and the most highly respected Hindu literature (1. Rig-Veda, 2. Yajuveda, 3. Samaveda, 4. Atharvaved) consist of the oldest layer of Sanskrit literature www.notesolution.com
More Less

Related notes for RLGA01H3

Log In


Join OneClass

Access over 10 million pages of study
documents for 1.3 million courses.

Sign up

Join to view


By registering, I agree to the Terms and Privacy Policies
Already have an account?
Just a few more details

So we can recommend you notes for your school.

Reset Password

Please enter below the email address you registered with and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Add your courses

Get notes from the top students in your class.