Key Terms on Buddhism

73 views4 pages
8 Apr 2011
Key Terms for the lectures on Buddhism:
1. Theravada / Hinayana - The Theravada school is the only tradition from those early 20
schools that still. Teaching of the Elders', the dominant form of Buddhism in Sri Lanka &
Southeast Asia survives today. Hinayana: 'Lesser Vehicle'; the pejorative name given by the
Mahayana ('Greater Vehicle') school to earlier Indian Buddhist sects, of which Theravada
became the most important. The Theravada school is the only tradition from those early 20
schools that still survives today. Theravada. 1. Believes that Sakyamuni is the only Buddha. 2.
The historical Buddha seen as a human. 3. Limited capacity for laymen to be enlightened 4.
Monks only can be enlightened. Theravada Rituals as practiced nowadays: Merit-Making
Rituals, Almsgiving, Dana, Buddha Day Festival (Vesak), Death Rituals.
2. Mahayana - Believes there are countless numbers of Buddhas in the three times. Also
infinite numbers of Buddha realms. All can be enlightened. Anyone who is enlightened
has the same authority as the Buddha to teach the Dharma. Monks, nuns, laymen,
laywomen all share equal opportunities to attain enlightenment. Buddhism has been
transmitted for centuries as an oral tradition, The first Buddhist canon was written down
around the first century BCE, It was also around that time when the Mahayana movement
Vajrayana. Mahayana Teachings:
Emptiness (sunyata)
Form is emptiness, emptiness is form; form is not separate from emptiness, and
emptiness is not separate from form.”
The Perfection of Wisdom Sutras (Prajnaparamita-sutra)
The sixfold perfections in Mahayana:
Generosity (dana)
Morality (sila)
Patience (ksanti)
Vigour (virya)
Meditation (dhyana)
Wisdom (prajna)
Transmitted to China in the first century CE. Chinese monks brought Buddhism to Korea in
the fourth century CE. Buddhist was later introduced to Japan from Korea in the mid-sixth
3. Buddha: (the enlightened one)The notion of bodhicitta: wisdom and compassion. The
ideal of Bodhisattva: the ten stages of Bodhisattvahood. The unique understanding of
the relationship between samsara and nirvana . The Three Bodies of the Buddha:
Unlock document

This preview shows page 1 of the document.
Unlock all 4 pages and 3 million more documents.

Already have an account? Log in

Get OneClass Grade+

Unlimited access to all notes and study guides.

Grade+All Inclusive
$10 USD/m
You will be charged $120 USD upfront and auto renewed at the end of each cycle. You may cancel anytime under Payment Settings. For more information, see our Terms and Privacy.
Payments are encrypted using 256-bit SSL. Powered by Stripe.