Study Guides (248,617)
Canada (121,638)
Religion (182)
RLG100Y1 (125)


8 Pages

Course Code
Walid Saleh

This preview shows pages 1,2 and half of page 3. Sign up to view the full 8 pages of the document.
Jainism:  Jainism has the same six points of Vedic religion o Karma: anything that is “material”  Does not engage in material world because the more one engages the deeper they sink into it and more karma fastens onto their souls  Both good and bad acts create karma  Punya: Good Karma  Paap: bad Karma; inauspicious  By eliminating the inflow of Karma, whether good or bad we are cleansing the soul of all karmic particles that will allow for liberation o Kala: circular cycle,  In every degenerate cycle, 24 Jinas that teach the path of Restraint come, o ahimsa : extremist  Central value thought to be the supreme path  (not just towards living creatures)  radicalism of non-violence  does not hurt anything (i.e. don’t step on ants)  you do not get punished for going against ahimsa, but you obtain bad karma  non-interference = non violence  violent acts increases the negative karma attatched to our souls, obstructing our ability to know our true self o Nirvana: your best trick to nirvana is to be reborn as a human o Moksha : state of complete detatchment from the world (state where you cannot communicate with the same people in the samsara cycle)  Expressly forbidden to cause harm to any living being  Believes that human suffering is real and not an illusion (DIFFERENT THAN BUDDHIST AND HINDU)  Good intentions are never enough, actions always have reasons or consequences  They must travel the path of renunciation- and Salekhana is only a logical end  Believe that the cycles of generation and degeneration produce predictable patterns in social, moral and physical life o As a result, within each cycle there are period that favor the emergence of Jinas who teach the path of liberation  Teaches: the path of happiness, truth and self-realization comes through restraint o Disengaging from the world in every way: family, community, and body o Path of renunciation is the path of a transformative power - Cultivating our personality comes at the expense of knowing our true self The Self: - The Self has nothing to do with this world - The self is washed away with each wave of samsara - It is the fundamental “other” FOUNDER: MahaVira (The Great Hero)  6th century BCE  Born into a ruling family, in Nepal – o What is known about his life comes from Jaina texts and parts of the Buddhist Pali Canon  Enlightment: he saw all conditions of the world o Was able to see what human beings thought, spoke or did at any moment  Age 72: Death: believed to be liberated from all his pains o Left his body and attained Moksha - He established Jainism as a four-fold community made up of monks, nuns, laymen and laywomen  Believed to be the final; Jina of the current degenerate time period  does not care about gods (instead, the gods worship the Jinas)  24 individuals (Jina conquerors) managed to obtain Nirvana during descending  Vegans: do not eat meat or “life products” because they do not believe in killing  there is no law  Jainism and Buddhism, from the very beginning, instituted two divisions: [Valays] and monks  200 years later, it divided into two sects: the naked monks and the white monks (not naked)  goal of Jainism: complete perfection (most importantly, purification) of the soul  theory of Jainism: any action ultimately gets attached to your soul, thus you need to be released from action to purify yourself (total and complete detachment)  goal of Jainism: get the Jiva out of the “samsaric cycle jinas: “victors” or conquerors” - twenty four acetic-prophets that thought the path of eternal happiness - highest expression of the Jaina ideal - conquers the world by turning his back on it Jiva:  Eternal soul  a soul that every human and every entity has  three essential characteristics: o consciousness (self knowledge) o bliss o energy  it is formless and genderless  it is luminous, peaceful  cannot be perceived by the senses - it is an immaterial substance that can only be seen in the mind  goal of Jainism: get the Jiva out of the “samsaric cycle”  Kevala = complete knowledge (omniscience) o is necessary to become free of the karma cycle, thus you need direct experience of your soul (in it’s pure form)  samyak Darshan : momentary awkening when the conscious self catches a glimpse of the soul o “Right faith o starting point of Jainism o calls for restraint and self-discipline  You get this knowledge through a system of yoga (disciplinary exercise of the monks)  yoga is divided into two systems: renunciation (aesthetic) and meditation Ajiva:  soul without consciousness  neutral to the Jiva, it is its friend and foe  consists of five types: 1. pugdala- pure matter  touch, taste, smell and color  all worldly knowledge is acquired by pugdala 2. kala- time 3. dharma- principle of motion 4. adharma- principle of rest 5. akash- space  problem between Jiva and aJiva is that they are enmeshed, preventing the soul from achieving a state of Bliss Ethical system:  the 3 jewels (ratnatraya) of the ethical system in Jainism: 1. right knowledge 2. right faith 3. right conduct  abstain from stealing  content with one’s wife  limit one’s possessions Jainism is not an independent religion. An eternal self - Jina.
More Less
Unlock Document

Only pages 1,2 and half of page 3 are available for preview. Some parts have been intentionally blurred.

Unlock Document
You're Reading a Preview

Unlock to view full version

Unlock Document

Log In


Join OneClass

Access over 10 million pages of study
documents for 1.3 million courses.

Sign up

Join to view


By registering, I agree to the Terms and Privacy Policies
Already have an account?
Just a few more details

So we can recommend you notes for your school.

Reset Password

Please enter below the email address you registered with and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Add your courses

Get notes from the top students in your class.