12 Pages
Unlock Document

Andre Maintenay

The Buddhist Tradition Buddhism has 3 main traditions or vehicles, all of which originated in India. o Theravada (a.k.a. Hinayana)- the earliest. Spread to Southeast Asia. o Mehayana- Became principle school in East Asia. o Vajrayana- developed out of Mehayana and became closely associated with the Himalayan religion. Buddhists say they take refuge in the Triple Gem: (1)the Buddha; (2)the dharma; (3)the sangha. As they progress along the path of enlightenment, they seek to become more compassionate, more generous, more detached from desire and hatred, more focused mentally, more pure of mind, and more spiritually wise. Origins The area along the Ganges River was a hotbed of economic activity in the 7 + 6 centuries BCE. The emergence of a money economy led to the establishment of one of the worlds first banking systems. The new money economy also created a new class of urban merchants and bankers. The conservative Brahmins- the priestly class- disapproved of the bankers as money-lenders. The most important cultural tension was religious- between the Hinduism of the Brahmins, and the indigenous religious traditions of the region, out of which Buddhism and Jainism developed. It is not accurate to say that Buddhism developed out of Hinduism. Buddhism rejected the authority of the Brahmin scriptures (the Vedas) and the hereditary authority of the Brahmin class. Buddhism represented a continuation of the traditional religion of India, and claimed to reach back hundreds or even thousands of years before the time of Buddha himself. Both Hinduism and Buddhism evolved out of ancient Indian spirituality: Hinduism from the Brahmin tradition and Buddhism from the non-Brahmin ascetic tradition. Religious training camps emerged- they were the forerunners of Buddhist monasteries. Students (all men) were required to take a vow of celibacy. Expected to deny themselves bodily pleasures for sake of spiritual development. The ethical values of the masters were rooted in the concept of ahimsa (non-harming or non-violence). Leaving the everyday life of the householder behind to follow the path of spiritual development, students departed the world, took vows of celibacy and poverty and became shramanas (disciples). Apart from the creator god Brahma, and the storm god Indra, deities played a small role in life of the shramanas. Students were expected to develop through their own efforts. The spiritual master shows the path, but the disciples must walk it themselves. Among the students who made their way to the Ganges was one named Siddhartha Gautama- he would become known as Shakyamuni and the Buddha. The 1st Gem: The Buddha The Buddhist view of the cosmos is that universes arise and pass away in endless succession. Within each universe, various eras come and go. The law of Karma means that living creatures are reborn again and again, for better or worse depending on their moral conduct in previous lives. Whenever dharma teachings have declined, a new Buddha for that era arises. There have been buddhas in previous eras and there will be other buddhas in eras to come. Siddharthas Birth and Childhood Birth occurs on the full-moon day of the rainy month called Vaishakha (usually falls in May). That night a bright light illuminates the world, marking the holy event. Siddhartha conceived miraculously, without sexual intercourse. Buddhas mother married to King Shuddhodana but is under a vow of celibacy. Buddha both outside, in a grove. And his birth announced by angels. www.notesolution.com Appears similar to birth of Jesus. (thieves! LOL) The child is raised as a pampered prince, sheltered from lifes problems. Enlightenment Frustrated by his failure to achieve a spiritual breakthrough, despite years of striving, the bodhisattva (Pre- enlightened Buddha), is now at a loss. Decides to try new approach: chooses a pleasant spot by a cool river, under a Bodhi tree and sits and meditates. Mara (satan-figure) appears and tries to tempt him, but Buddha will not be swayed. Just before dawn, the bodhisattva enters a state of complete awareness, of total insight into the nature of reality; this state is called bodhi. After hundreds of lives, he has fulfilled his bodhisattva vow. He is no longer a sattva (being, person) striving for bodhi; he is now a Buddha, a fully enlightened one. Having completed the path to full enlightenment, he has earned the title Tathagata (thus-gone one). Another term for this state of enlightenment is Nirvana. This state has 2 aspects, negative and positive: In its negative aspect, nirvana represents freedom from worldly evils such as greed, hatred, and delusion. In its positive aspect it represents transcendent happiness. Setting the Wheel in Motion The newly-enlightened Buddhas first concern is to seek out and instruct his two former yoga teachers, but through psychic powers he perceives that both have died. Buddha begins by telling his 5 friends to follow the path of moderation between self-indulgence and asceticism. Only after Buddha began to eat, drink and sleep in moderation was he able to reach enlightenment. The principle of moderation eventually becomes the basis for a general ethic of the Middle Way. Entering Parinirvana For the next 45 years the Buddha travels throughout the Middle Region, ordaining disciples and teaching thousands of lay followers. Buddha is eating a meal with his friends and suspects the dish is tainted, so he eats it to make sure no one else does- this causes him to fall ill and eventually die. Prior to his death, his disciples ask him whom they should follow if he dies, and he tells them to follow the dharma. Thus, in Buddhism, no individual has absolute authority, although there are senior authorities in particular traditions. On his deathbed, the Buddha meditates through the yoga stages, then at the moment of death he experiences parinirvana: the final end of the cycle of rebirth, the total cessation of suffering, the perfection of happiness. nd The 2 Gem: Dharma The Sanskrit term dharma is related to the Latin firma; thus we could understand dharma to refer to teachings that are firm or lasting. st At the core of Buddhas 1 sermon in the deer park were the Four Noble Truths about suffering and the Eightfold Path to overcoming it: 1) Noble Truth and Suffering: No living being can escape suffering. Birth, sickness, senility, and death are all occasions of suffering, whether physical or psychological. 2) Noble Truth of Origin: Suffering arises from craving, from excessive desire. 3) Noble Truth of Cessation: Suffering will cease when desire ceases. 4) Noble Truth of the Eightfold Path: It is possible to put an end to desire and hence to suffering by following the Eightfold Path: Right view or understanding (specifically the Four Noble Truths) Right thought (free of sensual desire, ill-will, and cruelty) Right speech Right conduct Right livelihood www.notesolution.com
More Less

Related notes for RLG100Y1

Log In


Join OneClass

Access over 10 million pages of study
documents for 1.3 million courses.

Sign up

Join to view


By registering, I agree to the Terms and Privacy Policies
Already have an account?
Just a few more details

So we can recommend you notes for your school.

Reset Password

Please enter below the email address you registered with and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Add your courses

Get notes from the top students in your class.