Study Guides (380,000)
CA (150,000)
UTSG (10,000)
RLG (100)
RLG100Y1 (100)
all (20)

RLG100Y1 Study Guide - Final Guide: Yajna, Naturism, Rigveda

Course Code
Study Guide

This preview shows half of the first page. to view the full 3 pages of the document.
Essential Characteristics of the Indic Worldview
1) Anadi (without beginning): Reflects the Indic conception of the universe beings forever
without an end. Therefore, there was never a time where the universe didn't exist. This
notion see’s the soul of the human to be reincarnated and always there without a
beginning where material will transfer to different forms. God did not create the universe,
its elements are to persist and exist.
2) Kala (time): As there is no beginning and no end, time has no beginning and no end.
Jainsism has a yuga cycle where the universe is created, destroyed, and decays. Hinduism
is like a circle as it is a cycle of billions of years. This cycle is indefinite, as time has no
creation, it is eternal/repeats.
a. Four phases of Yuga
Krata: Human beings live long lives and they’re morally upright. We
can hear the Veda in this time since we’re perfect. Corruption starts.
Trenta yuga: Ill feelings occur, jealousy, arrogance, murmurs of
decay, self absorb.
Vapura yuga: perfect decays, lives shorten, loosing energy, beginning
of wars, hunger.
Kali Yuga: The worst period (now), people slaughter each other, full
of envy, human disaster, minds are thick and dull obsession with
money and getting ahead then the apocalypse to start a new cycle.
3) Samsara (continuous flow): The repeating cycle of birth, life, death and rebirth in the
Indic world view. The goal of these Asian religions is to escape the process by attainting
4) Reincarnation: The religious philosophical concept that the soul or spirit after death
begins a new life in a new body that may be human, animal, or spiritual depending on the
moral quality of the previous life.
5) Karma: The concept of action understood as that which causes the entire cycle of cause
and effect. Karma comes from mental, physical, verbal, and emotional action. At every
given moments someone is generating Karma and there is a karmic equivalent, karma is
the fuel to samsara.
6) Moksha or Nirvana: The liberation and the final extrication of the soul or consciousness
from samsara and the bringing to end all the suffering to the cycle of repeated death and
7) Ahimsa: A term meaning to do no harm. Ahimsa is kindness and non-violence towards
all living things including animals; it respects living things as a unity, the belied that all
living things are connected.
Veda: Written around 1500 BCE, the Vedas (Sanskrit” knowledge) is the oldest scripture in
Hinduism that is supposed to have been directly revealed (unauthored) thus called surti (what is
heard) distinguishing from other religious text smirit (what is remembered). The Vedic text are
organized around four chronicle collections know as Rig, Sama, Yajo and Atharva consisting of
four sections hymns (samihata), directions for the performance of rituals (Brahmans),
composition for the forest (Arayakas) and the philosophical worlds called the Upanishads
which each Veda has its own. Although the Veda is recognized as the most scared Hindu text, it
is not something used at home rather it is understood as eternal sound and words passed on
through generations without change. Many Indian philosophies and sects have a different take on
the Veda. Schools of Indian philosophy refer to the Veda as their scripture authority while other
traditions such as Buddhism and Jainism do not regard the Vedas as the authoritive scripture.
You're Reading a Preview

Unlock to view full version