RLG100Y1 Study Guide - Gautama Buddha, Dharma, Parinirvana

64 views12 pages

Document Summary

The buddhist tradition: buddhism has 3 main traditions or vehicles", all of which originated in india, theravada (a. k. a. Buddhism from the non-brahmin ascetic tradition: religious training camps emerged- they were the forerunners of buddhist monasteries. Students (all men) were required to take a vow of celibacy. Departed the world", took vows of celibacy and poverty and became shramanas (disciples): apart from the creator god brahma, and the storm god indra, deities played a small role in life of the shramanas. Students were expected to develop through their own efforts. The spiritual master shows the path, but the disciples must walk it themselves: among the students who made their way to the ganges was one named siddhartha gautama- he would become known as shakyamuni and the buddha. The 1st gem: the buddha: the buddhist view of the cosmos is that universes arise and pass away in endless succession. Within each universe, various eras come and go.

Get access

Grade+20% off
$8 USD/m$10 USD/m
Billed $96 USD annually
Homework Help
Study Guides
Textbook Solutions
Class Notes
Textbook Notes
Booster Class
40 Verified Answers

Related Documents

Related Questions