PSYA02H3 Lecture Notes - Lev Vygotsky, Stuffed Toy, 6 Years

31 views4 pages
1 Feb 2013
23 January 2013
For you and me our thoughts about the world and people within it are our constant companion, and we
think about these things in a relatively automatic way. But how do processes of thought develop, and
why do we think as much as we do? This emphasizes the importance of a responsive world and linking
all this back to the issue of consciousness (IE: Crying).
Jean Piaget was a Swiss biologist. He noticed that when confronted with difficult problems, children of
the same age made precisely the same mistakes. And as they aged, they stopped making these mistakes
at precisely the same time. Cognitive Development is the emergence of the ability to think and
understand. Between infancy and adulthood, children must come to understand how the physical world
works, how their minds represent it, and how other minds represent it. Piaget suggested that cognitive
development occurs in four stages: the sensorimotor stage, the preoperational stage, the concrete
operational stage, and the formal operational stage. He stressed the importance of operations, schemas,
and the processes of assimilation versus accommodation.
Sensorimotor Stage is a stage of development that begins at birth and lasts through infancy. Infants at
this stage use their ability to sense and their ability to move to acquire information about the world in
which they live; it is closely tied to external stimulation. By actively exploring their environments with
their eyes, mouths, and fingers, infants begin to construct schemas.
Schemas are theories about or models of the way the world works
Assimilation occurs when infants apply their schemas in novel situations. Imagine a child is in
the world learning about things; Piaget thought that while they did this, they would form
categories (IE: If an infant learns that tugging at a stuffed animal causes the toy to come closer,
then that observation is incorporated into the infant’s theory about how physical objects
behave, and the infant can later use that theory when he or she wants a different object to
come closer, such as a rattle or a ball)
Accommodation is when infants revise their schemas in light of new information (IE: Tugs the
tail of the family cat, the cat is likely to sprint in the opposite direction, disconfirming the
infant’s theory of “things come closer if I pull them”)
Object Permanence is the idea that objects continue to exist even when they are not visible.
Piaget noted that in the first few months of life, infants act as though objects stop existing the
moment they are out of sight.
Childhood is the stage of development that begins at about 18 to 24 months and lasts until adolescence,
which begins between 11 and 14 years.
Preoperational Stage is the stage of development that begins at about 2 years and ends at about 6
years, during which the child learns about physical or “concrete” objects, learning how to think logically
and how to use symbols, especially language while the child stills has an egocentric bias.
In a study where Piaget placed an egg in each cup, preoperational children were able to agree
there were just as many eggs as cups; however, when Piaget removed the eggs from the cup
and spread them out in a line that extended beyond the cups, the preoperational children
incorrectly claimed there were more eggs than cups
Unlock document

This preview shows page 1 of the document.
Unlock all 4 pages and 3 million more documents.

Already have an account? Log in

Get OneClass Notes+

Unlimited access to class notes and textbook notes.

YearlyBest Value
75% OFF
$8 USD/m
$30 USD/m
You will be charged $96 USD upfront and auto renewed at the end of each cycle. You may cancel anytime under Payment Settings. For more information, see our Terms and Privacy.
Payments are encrypted using 256-bit SSL. Powered by Stripe.