Class 8 – 02:09:12.doc

4 Pages
Unlock Document

Pennsylvania State University
Nicholas Pearson

Class 8 – 02/09/12 Chapter 5 – Self-Understanding What is the self? – I am a Christian – I am a guitarist – I am a juggler – I am a ukulele player – I am intelligent – I am a pilot Reflection of the self-concept – Cognitive representation of the self Cultural Differences East / West differences – West = US, Canada, Europe – East =Africa, asia, south america – West – independent view of self: define self in terms of ones own thoughts, feelings and actions – East – Interdependent view of self: define self in terms of one's relationships with other people and their thoughts, feelings, actions The self is not a bowling ball - EE Jones System of self-schemas (models of who we are) – One particular way of looking at the self-concept – Within a particular schema – a dimension on which one rates oneself will be - – High on the dimension – Definitely not the opposite – Important and without contradiction – For example – Adventurous: “I'm very adventurous, I'm definitely not withdrawn, and being adventurous is an important part of who I am.” Actor / Observer Difference – Other people's behavior is caused by traits – Our own behavior is caused by the situation – The self is much more complex than other people (you know yourself well) – We are more aware of our own complex personality traits than others' personality traits – Our personality traits are viewed as more varied across situation – No one will understand my thoughts and feelings the same as they understand their own – We see a variety of self schemas depending on the situation The Coherent Self – Accessibility - working self-concept – Situational attributions - Blame the situation for inconsistent behavior In sooth, I know not why I am sad, But how I caught it, found it, or came by it, What stuff 'tis made of whereof it is born, I am to learn. - Shakespeare Understanding the Self – We understand ourselves in a social conte