Key Terms on Buddhism

4 Pages
Unlock Document

University of Toronto Scarborough
Henry Shiu

Key Terms for the lectures on Buddhism: 1. Theravada Hinayana - The Theravada school is the only tradition from those early 20 schools that still. Teaching of the Elders, the dominant form of Buddhism in Sri Lanka & Southeast Asia survives today. Hinayana: Lesser Vehicle; the pejorative name given by the Mahayana (Greater Vehicle) school to earlier Indian Buddhist sects, of which Theravada became the most important. The Theravada school is the only tradition from those early 20 schools that still survives today. Theravada. Believes that Sakyamuni is the only Buddha. 2. The historical Buddha seen as a human. 3. Limited capacity for laymen to be enlightened 4. Monks only can be enlightened. Theravada Rituals as practiced nowadays: Merit-Making Rituals, Almsgiving, Dana, Buddha Day Festival (Vesak), Death Rituals. 2. Mahayana - Believes there are countless numbers of Buddhas in the three times. Also infinite numbers of Buddha realms. All can be enlightened. Anyone who is enlightened has the same authority as the Buddha to teach the Dharma. Monks, nuns, laymen, laywomen all share equal opportunities to attain enlightenment. Buddhism has been transmitted for centuries as an oral tradition, The first Buddhist canon was written down around the first century BCE, It was also around that time when the Mahayana movement began. Vajrayana. Mahayana Teachings: Emptiness (sunyata) Form is emptiness, emptiness is form; form is not separate from emptiness, and emptiness is not separate from form. The Perfection of Wisdom Sutras (Prajnaparamita-sutra) The sixfold perfections in Mahayana: Generosity (dana) Morality (sila) Patience (ksanti) Vigour (virya) Meditation (dhyana) Wisdom (prajna) Transmitted to China in the first century CE. Chinese monks brought Buddhism to Korea in the fourth century CE. Buddhist was later introduced to Japan from Korea in the mid-sixth century 3. Buddha: (the enlightened one)The notion of bodhicitta: wisdom and compassion. The ideal of Bodhisattva: the ten stages of Bodhisattvahood. The unique understanding of the relationship between samsara and nirvana . The Three Bodies of the Buddha:
More Less

Related notes for RLGA01H3

Log In


Don't have an account?

Join OneClass

Access over 10 million pages of study
documents for 1.3 million courses.

Sign up

Join to view


By registering, I agree to the Terms and Privacy Policies
Already have an account?
Just a few more details

So we can recommend you notes for your school.

Reset Password

Please enter below the email address you registered with and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Add your courses

Get notes from the top students in your class.